Workspace

I was in a book store in the Big City last week and stood in awe at one of those obscenely decadent magazine racks—-one of those that covers the entire back of the store! And, I’ll confess, it was amazing! 🙂

While there I bought some unique magazines that I never knew existed. My favorite was the Haute Handbag Magazine which is not only cool bags to look at, but also how to make nearly every single one. Good ideas for these projects and ideas to transfer to other projects. I will confess that I actually bought the thing, though, because of an article about Steampunk. While that particular article was kinda slim, the magazine was worth it anyway.

However, the most interesting magazine I saw was about workspace: Where Women Create. The whole magazine was devoted to a few artists/craftspersons and their work spaces. This got me to thinking about the places where I work—-both at the office where I work for the job part of my vocational life* and at home where I work for the non-job part of my vocational life*.

So, here’s my workspace at home

craft room

It seems terribly crowded and, well, I guess it is. But it is a whole room… A WHOLE ROOM dedicated to nothing other than making stuff! The desk came from the Grove Park Inn several years ago when they were remodeling some guest rooms and selling off furniture and it has that great Craftsman era shape to it. Theres scrapbooking, knitting, polymer clay, papercrafts, beading and jewelry making, sewing supplies and all kinds of stuff in there. Books and yarn yarn yarn, too, of course.

books

This chair was refinished for me by my grandmother and, although it isn’t a fine piece of furniture, it reminds me every day of the art and craft and creativity in my whole family.

chair

Now, don’t get me wrong. I had a great time looking through that magazine and seeing all those nice, neat, organized craft spaces. But I couldn’t help but think that, in the end, those spaces didn’t look like that on the average day. These were real people who really worked and, of course, things were set up nice for a photo shoot for print. But I’m guessing that their spaces looked lived and worked in on an average day. And so does mine.

And, of course, what craft room is complete with out a Cat???

violet

As for the workspace in the office……….. 

desk

At least, it’s the immediate workspace in which I spend most of my weekday, but then, about once a week, I get to be here:

office2work table

 

Life is full of good things!

*for me, vocational life is what I’m called to be and do. it’s the whole of what one might call work or craft, for that matter. it would be reasonable to say that my paying job is also a craft of sorts.

One thought on “Workspace

  1. Pingback: Sewing/Work Room « Random Act of Grace

Leave a Reply

