New Prayer Box–Found Art Piece

Freshly Minted Prayer Box.

I think it’s quite lovely

 Prayer Box

Balsam wood box painted with acrylic paint. Glass beads and wax cord on the sides. Wooden beads for feet.

Box side

The front is a deccoupaged icon image from a lovely icon catalog. It’s the archangel Raphael, protector of travelers and pilgrims. A companion and guardian as we travel along our life’s journey. I might need to purchase some icon cards from that catalog for future projects.

Raphael

The inside says “hope is your guide”. I thought a long time about what I wanted the words on this box to be. I wanted them to be something about hope. I pondered over lots of different things and even considered using just the word Hope. I descided against the later because of the recent political use of that single word by Obama. It’s not that I disagree so much with him as I just think it is a shame that a word like Hope has become a politicized word. I realized that in the end, what I wanted to say was related to Hope on our journey. Hope is your guide.

hope is your guide

Hoping to set it free today!

note

UPDATE:: set free in Dillsboro Chocolate Factory. Second one in this place. You can see it here on the table with their public use computer 🙂

Oh, and of course, I bought some Ameretto Fudge while I was there!

box

6 thoughts on “New Prayer Box–Found Art Piece

  1. I work at the Dillsboro Chocolate Factory and I have found two of your boxs..they are lovely and bring smiles to our faces when we find them!!

  2. DEAR ROSEMARY,
    I DROPPED BY TO WISH YOU A HAPPY PINK SATURDAY BUT I AM PROBABLY TOO EARLY.
    YOU ARE A BEAUTIFUL BLESSING…WHAT YOU ARE DOING WITH THE PRAYER BOXES…IT JUST MAKES MY HEART SWELL WITH JOY.
    THE PRAYER BOXES ARE BEAUTIFUL AND I AGREE WITH YOU ABOUT HOPE. WE MUST HAVE HOPE, BUT I DID NOT THINK ABOUT IT BEING POLITICAL.
    YOU ARE SUCH AN INSPIRATION. THIS IS THE FIRST THING I HAVE REALLY BEEN EXCITED OVER IN A LONG TIME. YOU WILL NEVER KNOW THIS SIDE OF HEAVEN THE LIVES YOU WILL TOUCH THROUGH THESE PRAYER BOXES MADE WITH YOUR LOVING HANDS. AWESOME
    HUGS AND BLESSINGS
    SIMPLY DEBBIE

    • Hi Debbie!
      Thank you so kindly for the comment! Just posted this week’s pink saturday 🙂
      I’m really loving making the prayer boxes–they are a joy to do and to leave. Hope is, I would say, the sort of theme of why I’m doing it. If I could give a gift away to people I see every day, it would be hope

Leave a Reply

