Journey of Renewal

As part of the Journey of Renewal program for my ministry, I am to create a life plan, life goal, mission statement type of thing. It is actually quite interesting. The latest assignment was to examine the different areas of our life that we want to improve and then write out some sort of plan. Honestly, I’ve done this sort of thing so many times that I wasn’t sure I could make it something other than a rehashing of what’s been a part of my previous work. So, I decided to do a visual piece instead.

Of the different life areas this program examines I chose to work with the physical and social components of a balanced life. Ultimately, though, my goal with this whole program is to examine what is already working well in my life so that I can duplicate it in other settings.

I chose to use a few pieces I already had that had not found a home as of yet. The heart is layered polymer clay with clock parts encased in an epoxy. It never dried quite right, but I think the uneven texture adds to it. The box itself is a metal shrine box that I ordered from ARTchix Studio and so are the really cool copper wings. Archive paper, cotton yarn, metal cross with crystal, copper key and metal sparrow form the rest.

Ultimately, I think it is a good representation of what I’m aiming for: a harmony of mind, body, heart and spirit. In reality, I do not think these things are actually separate but I, like so many of us, tend to live in my head as though all the rest were somehow disconnect-able from my brain.

I put the key on the outside of the box as a reminder that I’ve got the key to me.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

